Members of the CiCe Association are to be provided with password protected online access to the journal Citizenship, Teaching and Learning, an international research journal produced by citizED in partnership with the CiCe Association. This applies to both Institutional members and Individual members. citizED can be accessed at

This is a refereed journal with an international editorial board, including leading members of both CiCea and the CiCe Network.

The journal is edited by Dr Alan Sears, of the University of New Brunswick (Canada). Alan was our opening keynote speaker at the 2015 CiCea / Jean Monnet Conference in Corinth Greece.

The latest issue published was in  May 2014. The first redesigned issue to be published on our behalf by Intellect Publishers  was published in July 2010, and copies have been sent to all Association members.  The journal website may be accessed here.

By accepting publication in the Journal contributors grant the right to the editorial committee to publish contributions electronically and in hard copy. Contributors should bear in mind that they are addressing an international audience and so must avoid the use of jargon, acronyms without explanation or the use of specialist terms (especially in relation to grades, ages, phases of schooling). Please ensure that writing is, as far as possible, free from bias, for instance, by avoiding sexist and racist language. The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) should be used as a guide for spellings. Permissible alternative spellings should follow the OED, eg verbal forms which can end in -ize or -ise should be given the -ize form.

Contributions can only be considered if they can be read using Microsoft Word.


Articles submitted to Citizenship Teaching and Learning should be original and not under consideration by any other publication.  Contributions should be submitted electronically as an e-mail attachment in Microsoft Word format.  Books for review should be sent to the Reviews Editor, c/o Editorial Office.  Articles should be sent by e-mail attachment to Ian Davies ( The editor will send submitted articles for anonymous review. Two referees will review each submission. Should there be disagreement between the reviewers the editor will approach a third person for a judgement. 

Articles should be of between 4000 and 6000 words, double spaced with ample margins.  All material must be submitted as intended for publication. A document that provides detailed submission guidelines may be accessed here as well as from the Intellect Journals House Style here. 

Book Reviewers

Reviews should be sent by e- mail attachment to the reviews editor Mitsuharu Mizuyama (, who will read each review to check for relevance to the journal. Where revisions are required the administrator and reviews editor will coordinate necessary correspondence to ensure that the final version of the review has been formally accepted before publication occurs.

Book reviews should be between 400 and 600 words in length. Please enclose a note with your review, stating that the review has not been submitted or published elsewhere.


Dr. Ian Davies, University of York, UK

Handling Editor:

Andrew Peterson, University of Canterbury, UK

Associate Editors:

Alan Sears (University of New Brunswick Fredericton, Canada)

Marta Fulöp (Institute for Psychology, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary)

Chief regional editors:

Africa - Professor Yousef Waghid (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)

Asia - Professor Kerry Kennedy (Hong Kong Institute of Education, Hong Kong) and Professor Wing On Lee (University of Sydney, Australia)

Australia - Professor Murray Print (University of Sydney, Australia)

Canada - Professor Alan Sears (University of New Brunswick, Canada)

Europe - Associate Professor Concepcion Naval (University of Navarra, Spain)

USA - Professor Judith Torney Purta (University of Maryland, USA)

Books Editor

Mitsuharu Mizuyama Kyoto University of Education, Japan

Editorial Committee:

John Annette, University of London, UK

James Arthur, University of Birmingham, UK 

Jon Davison, Canterbury Christ Church University, UK

Ruth Deakin-Crick, University of Bristol, UK

Bernadette Dean, St Joseph’s College for Women, Pakistan

Mark Evans, University of Toronto, Canada

Elizabeth Frazer, Oxford University, UK

Judith Gill, University of South Australia, Australia

Carole Hahn, Emory University, USA

Nanny Harstmar, Malmö University, Sweden

Yvonne Hebert, University of Calgary, Canada

Cathie Holden, University of Exeter, UK

Norio Ikeno, Hiroshima University, Japan

David Kerr, Birbeck College, University of London, UK

Will Kymlicka, Queens University, Canada

Audrey Osler, University of Leeds, UK

Walter Parker, University of Washington, USA

Graham Pike, Vancouver Island University, Canada

Alistair Ross, London Metropolitan University, UK

Julia Athena Spinthourakis, University of Patras, Greece